Who Do that VooDoo… Clarifying Eclipse and Numbers…


This blog takes for granted that its readers know at least a little something about numerology if they are here, reading what I tend to write about.  I don’t write about basic numerology because there are plenty of other resources where you can learn about that elsewhere.  Pretty much all books on the subject can provide you with a place to start when it comes to basic numerological thought and number meanings.  And it’s just not the focus on this blog.

Sun Spots – Solar Eclipses – Master Numbers – 11:11 – Numerology – Astrology – Astronomy – Predictions & Prophesy

I like metaphysics.  There is meaning in looking at the world and its flow from an “outside” point of view.  I like to cross-reference a variety of information and events when I write about numerology and it’s layers of influence and where patterns overlap or collide.  And in all these things, I like to be very clear about information and facts I might reference.  You know, those things based on what is known and what has been traditionally understood.  It’s just good journalism. 

Currently the internet is alive with hubabbub about the Solar Eclipse getting ready to take place in just a few hours.  However, in the midst of it all, there is also mis-information amok.  It’s no wonder sometimes that skeptics might dump us all into the same new age bucket of all that’s odd.  So to add a little balance and maybe some clarification, I present some points of reference for my discerning readers:

1.  The solar eclipse begins on July 22 Universal Time.  I generally post information about astrological events in UT because I like to get my astronomical info from NASA and that is what they do.  Using Universal Time is generally considered a standard, and perhaps too many of us take for granted that others would know this.  But this point also means that in the Western part of the world, the solar eclipse begins on July 21st – tonight. 

From a numerological standpoint – I repeat myself again – when looking at world influence when it comes to numbers, you must remind yourself that there are always two different dates in operation on this planet at any one time. 

2.  I’ve read in a few places today that this is the longest solar eclipse ever, the longest in the 21st century, the longest in our lifetimes, etc..  None of this is exactly correct.  The July 22, 2009 solar eclipse is the longest total solar eclipse to take place within the Saros Series 136 and also to occur within the 21st Century.  There are several variables involved with today’s solar event and more than one type of solar eclipse to note. 

The longest solar eclipse in the saros Series 136 altogether was actually June 20, 1955.  And the Saros Series 136 itself began First Eclipse ->  1360 Jun 14   and the Last Eclipse ->  2622 Jul 30, making a total Duration for Saros 136  =  1262.11 Years.  “Solar eclipses of Saros 136 all occur at the Moon’s descending node and the Moon moves northward with each eclipse.” 

(Additional note: the last solar eclipse back on January 26, 2009 was from from a different series called the Saros Series 131. And it happened to be the longest annular solar eclipse in the entire Saros Series 131.  Solar eclipses of Saros 131 all occur at the Moon’s ascending node and the Moon moves southward with each eclipse.) 

So the point being, yes, it’s very cool we finally get to see a long total solar eclipse in a while, but it is not quite the unique event of our lifetime some people are painting.  You can read about this and more on the Saros Series 136 on NASA’s website for yourself here: http://eclipse.gsfc.nasa.gov/SEsaros/SEsaros136.html.

3.  Numerologically, July 22nd carries the vibrations of 11 and 22.  I’ve seen references to “The 11:11” and other things on a few blogs, and even one of my readers wrote to me about it as well.  (And thanks to Sandie for giving me a push to finish writing this article sooner! :wink:)  Of the references I’ve read, I haven’t found this “11:11” presentation numerologically logical.  The skeptics out there are laughing at that statement, but they are going to laugh anyway.

This sort of number play in all honesty reminds me too much of theology class, where one professor could take a scripture and make it mean one thing and another professor could take the same scripture and make it support a completely different point of view.  It also reminds me of things like statistics class and the book by Darrell Huff, “How to Lie with Statistics.”  Simply put, it is possible to manipulate information to say what you want or to match your belief system.  I talk to people all the time who really, really want to see 11:11 or some other sign in their lives.  Sometimes they do witness significant patterns of note.  And sometimes a clock is just a clock and my shoe size has nothing to do with my social security number.

July 22, 2009 is in totality a 22 or 4 day depending on your method of reduction.  It may be during an 11 year, but it is not numeroligcally sound to create 11:11 from 7 +22 = 29/11 and then set 11 year next to that with a : in the middle, voila making it 11:11.  July is intense with plenty of numerological patterns already without having to come up with something that is not even standard tradition.  If this were acceptable “number magic,” then by logic, because numerology does demand a cord of logic through the center, somewhere between 24 and 36 dates this year will be 11:11.  Perhaps others find some value in this approach, however I do not support this view.

What I do see is the diversion away from the important message of 22.  Of and by itself, 22 on any particular day is not necessarily all that astounding.  And generally I wouldn’t even consider this particular July 22 to be all that special.   In the method of simple Pythagorean reduction, where every portion of day, month and year is reduced once before reduction, arguably one of our oldest and most simplest method of reduction, you get 22.  Because there are more advanced methods of reduction logic in our modern world now, and we tend to respect our double digits more than we did in the old world style, I look at this as a lesser influence than if I do not have to reduce at all.

So why do I have this date noted in my list of numerologically interesting dates?  Because of the recent shift of USA moving into a 22 cycle, the presence of the 11 year, and the total solar eclipse taking place on this date.  This qualifies to me as a convergence of energies that I want to take note of.  Eclipses have throughout history been symbolic of cleansing and facing challenges.  Master numbers are symbolic of facing challenges, the “hand of destiny” and holding ourselves to a higher standard. 

Spiritually speaking, seeing these events take place together, represents a very significant time to face, cleanse and overcome and denotes a more societal movement.  That sort of process also generally brings with it an unveiling of some sort, and a revealing of truth – sometimes something we didn’t want to see.  As such, I find myself taking note.

Observing the world for patterns is something I highly encourage anyone to participate in.  Even Christ said to be watchful in all things.  All of our great philosophers and scientists advocated looking at the world in a different way and using our powers of observation to glean understanding and even wisdom about this life we live.  My goal in writing is simply to share what, in my own quirky way, I observe.  But I do hope, before you go accepting my word on whatever you read here, that you’ll click on the links and go check it out yourself.  In the end, I think you’ll see where I’m coming from much clearer.

Leave a Reply

